Uncategorized

Blogging Frustrations + A Possible Hiatus

Hello friends and fellow book lovers! This week’s post is a little bit different than my previous weeks and it’s because I’m feeling a little bit frustrated with being a blogger. Personally, I’ve been blogging for a few years, both bookish and non-bookish content. I’ve always loved writing and sharing my opinions on things so there’s no surprise that I would eventually have a blog focused on books as I’m a huge reader.

With that being said, I’m a little bit frustrated with how my blog has been performing and that’s partly my fault. Since 2019, I’ve really been frustrated with myself as I feel like I can’t get a good grip on what I want to write and what kind of posts will perform well. Honestly, it’s hard to put in a lot of effort and not have my posts doing as well as I want them to or not seeing them get as much traction as previous months/weeks.

Overall, it’s just frustrating that my blog isn’t getting nearly as many hits as it did in previous months/years. With that being said, I don’t know what I want to do with my blog. I do enjoy writing posts and talking about books on here. I’m not sure if I want to go on hiatus for a month or if I want to just take an extended blogging break. Either way, I’d love suggestions for others if you’ve felt this way and how you got over it.

Honestly, I’m not sure what I’m going to do yet so if you don’t see me posting, you’re not shocked. I feel like I’m a lost at the moment and it’s unclear if blogging is helping me or hurting me. Either way, I know I’ll have a few posts up for Graphics-A-Thon so be on the lookout for those and others if I decide to continue posting in June.

Until then, you can find me on Twitter & Goodreads.if you want to talk!

11 thoughts on “Blogging Frustrations + A Possible Hiatus

  1. I hear you! I feel like my content has been dry lately and I put a lot of pressure on myself to get views and interactions. But if you need a break, take one. Your writing will only get better when you rest your brain.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really feel you on being frustrated! I had exactly the same! I just took a month off, frmo both writing and reading other bloggers posts. Just to think if I want to continue and what I would want to post! And this month really made me realize I do miss posting, so I´m continuing again, bit I just have to put less pressure on it for myself!
    I hope you can figure something out that will work for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally see what you’re seing. I get this feeling constantly which makes me less motvated to blog and therefore my blog performs worse and worse because I create less content. Sometimes what works best for me is exactly what you’re doing, taking a break. Take as much time as you need, we’ll be here when you come back and IF you decide to do it (I’d love to read your posts forever, but this blog is for you, not me) and I can always interact with you in your other social medias. Take care of yourself, enjoy your time off 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I get what you mean here! My blog has never become huge like others do but …I am ok with it. I think what we should so is just post what we love and feel posting and not dwell on the likes and the statistics. Because we don’t control everything. Having fun is the most important all in all.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Ohh yes- my views had dropped for the last two/three months too. Definately felt the urge to just let go too- the down in my inspiration didnt helped either 😬

    As we’re mostly bloggers all interacting with each other, i do see an increase when I do bloghop more than when I don’t. Enjoy your hiatus & think of what you wanna do xx

    Like

Leave a comment